20th Traditional Summer Linguistics School


We're cautiously happy to announce the 20th Traditional Summer Linguistics school for high school students will be held in Narva-Jõesuu, Estonia, 28 July - 6  August 2021.
This summer school is originally a summer school for mostly Russian-speaking students from St. Petersburg, Russia, and therefore traditionally was mostly held in Russian. However, due to current border restrictions we expect the majority of participants to be from various countries of Europe, due to which the official language of the event in 2021 will be English.
The programme of the school is planned to be a mixture of what used to be International Youth Language Festival
(https://www.facebook.com/International-Youth-Language-Festival-103106841...) and the Traditional Summer Linguistics school, which means that courses on different fields of modern linguistics will go along with short courses of different languages of the world. Classes on solving linguistic problems are also programmed. The courses will be performed by professional linguists and university teachers from Estonia, Russia, Germany, Poland etc., the exact list and programme to be confirmed closer to the event.
The potential audience of the school is high school and early University students at the approximate age range between 14 and 19. We're especially aiming at participants of national olympiads in linguistics but of course not disregarding the kids who just have natural interest to languages and science.
The venue will be, as usual, hostel Laine (http://lainekodu.ee) with the price of 490 euro including accommodation, meals and the transfer from Tallinn and back. One day excursion to Tallinn might also be organised, subject to the current situation and possible restrictions.
The deadline for applications is 9 July.
We’re waiting for your applications in a free format to be sent to olevi26@gmail.com.
You may also contact us at +37255911625, +34664427197 (WhatsApp) or +79219462692 (Telegram).

On behalf of the organising committee,
Stanislav Gurevich.