Lévy processes and operator algebras, with applications

24-30.07.2016 Będlewo, Poland

The dates of the Workshop are:

arrival day: Sunday, July 24, 2016

departure day: Saturday, July 30, 2016

The conference will be organized by:

The main topics of the programme are:

  • free probability,
  • representation theory of symmetric groups and applications,
  • Young diagrams, Kerov's polynomials, asymptotic characters of symmetric groups,
  • random matrices,
  • non-commutative independences,
  • combinatorics in non-commutative probability,
  • infinite divisibility in classical and free probability,
  • quantum groups,
  • non-commutative stochastic processes.

Scientific committee:

  • Daniel Alpay (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev)
  • Phillipe Biane (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique)
  • Włodek Bryc (University of Cincinnati)
  • Joachim Cuntz (Mathematisches Institut Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster)
  • Uwe Franz (Université de Franche-Comté, Besançon)
  • Friedrich Götze (Bielefeld University)
  • Madalin Guta (University of Nottingham)
  • Robin Hudson (Loughborough University)
  • Un Cig Ji (Chungbuk National University)
  • Yasuyuki Kawahigashi (University of Tokyo)
  • Seung-Hyeok Kye (Seoul National University)
  • Michael Leinert (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg)
  • Eugene Lytvynov (Swansea University)
  • Maciej Nowak (Jagiellonian University, Kraków)
  • Nobuaki Obata (Tohoku University)
  • Gilles Pisier (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris 6 & Texas A&M University)
  • Roland Speicher (Universität des Saarlandes)
  • Piotr Śniady (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań)
  • Anatolij Vershik (Steklov Mathematikal Institue of Russian Academy, St. Petersburg)
  • Dan Voiculescu (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Jacek Wesołowski (Warsaw University of Technology)
  • Quanhua Xu (Université de Franche-Comté, Besançon)
  • Hiroaki Yoshida (Ochanomizu University, Tokyo)
  • Karol Życzkowski (Jagiellonian University, Kraków)

Local organizing committee:

Wiktor Ejsmont (Wrocław University of Economics) wiktor.ejsmont
Paweł Józiak (IMPAN) pjoziak
Anna Krystek (University of Wrocław) Anna.Krystek
Romuald Lenczewski (Wrocław University of Technology) Romuald.Lenczewski
Marcin Marciniak (University of Gdańsk) matmm
Wojciech Młotkowski (University of Wrocław) Wojciech.Mlotkowski
Rafał Sałapata (Wrocław University of Technology) Rafal.Salapata
Piotr Śniady (Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań and IMPAN) piotr.sniady
Łukasz Wojakowski (University of Wrocław) Lukasz.Wojakowski
Anna Wysoczańska-Kula (Jagiellonian University and University of Wrocław) Anna.Kula
Janusz Wysoczański (University of Wrocław) Janusz.Wysoczanski


Please, confirm your participation as soon as you can, by sending e-mail to:




Registration deadline is April 30, 2016.


The regular fee for the conference is 150 EURO, including accommodation, boarding and conference materials. However, we might be able to lower the fee of some young researchers, so we encourage them to apply (although we cannot contribute to the travel expenses). Accompanying persons are welcome, their fee is 810 PLN.